Bike Reviews > Absa Cape Epic

Absa Cape Epic 2010 Winners

pinit fg en rect gray 20   Absa Cape Epic 2010 Winners

absa cape epic 2010 winners   Absa Cape Epic 2010 Winners

The Absa Cape Epic has finally ended and the final verdict is a victory by the Bulls Team. Karl Platt and Stefan Sahm (2:44.59,6) finished fourth at the last stage of the race. The final stage was designed to be a challenge with short and steep climbs for the 65km distance.

No stranger to the podium, Platt and Sahm also won the Absa Cape Epic in 2007 and 2009. After a grueling 8-day race, the Bulls Team finished at the total of 29 hours, 47 minutes and 46 seconds. Coming at second place is Burry Stander and Christoph Sauser of Songo-Specialized by DCM at 29 hours, 57 minutes and 46 seconds. Third place goes to MTN Qhubeka Topeak Ergon’s Kevin Evans and Alban Lakata with 30 hours, 12 minutes and 30 seconds.

The final stage finish line was crossed with pride first by Jose Hermida and Rudi Von Houts of Multivan…

Read More…

Cape Epic Stage 1 Wins for Evans and Lakata

pinit fg en rect gray 20   Cape Epic Stage 1 Wins for Evans and Lakata

cape epic stage 1 wins evans lakata   Cape Epic Stage 1 Wins for Evans and Lakata

The Absa Cape Epic began and first stage winners are Kevin Evans and his teammate Alban Lakata.

The time stamp for their win was 4:35.52. Team MTN Qhubeka/Topeak Ergon duo was ahead Christopher Sauser and Burry Stander by 3 minutes and 26 seconds. Songo-Specialized by DCM finished at 4:39.17. Emil Lindgren and Fabian Ginger of Team Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team came in at third place at 4:40.05. Bulls 1 came in fourth at 4:40.27. Karl Platt and Stefan Stahm were last year’s overall winners. In fifth place, Team Trek World Racing with the Flückiger brothers Lukas and Matthias, finished at 4:41.53.

Evans recalls their win, “Normally my first day is not a good one, but obviously we got a few things right today. It was a roller coaster ride, and I even had a puncture, but we kept it together with Alban saying it’s never over until it’s over.”

On the other hand,…

Read More…