pinit fg en rect gray 20   Paulinho wins Stage 10 of Tour de France

paulinho wins stage 10 of tour de france 300x184   Paulinho wins Stage 10 of Tour de FranceTeam RadioShack’s first stage win was due to Sergio Paulinho of Portugal. Paulinho persevered with a breakaway of six riders then bested Vasil Kiryienka (Caisse d’Epargne) in a sprint to claim stage 10 of the Tour de France 2010. The six-man break lasted 14 minutes which was notably the largest in the Tour. Paulinho now moved to 54th place overall, trailing behind by 41:51.

“I’ve been dreaming of this since I was a little child. I haven’t seen my teammates yet but I’m sure we’re going to celebrate this win because it’s the first for us on the race,” said Paulinho.

Paulinho took on the 179km stage with determination and focus. He broke away from the peloton after about 30 miles on the road. He began the race at 77th position, 56:10 behind race leader Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank).

Schleck was able to maintain and defend his 41 second advantage over Alberto Contador (Astana).

Stage 10 (Top-10):

1 Sergio Paulinho (Por) Team Radioshack 5:10:56
2 Vasili Kiryienka (Blr) Caisse d’Epargne, same time
3 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step 0:01:29
4 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom, same time
5 Mario Aerts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:01:33
6 Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:20
7 Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale 0:12:58
8 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne 0:13:57
9 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC – Columbia 0:14:19
10 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini

Overall Standings (After 10 stage):

1 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 49:00:56
2 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana 0:00:41
3 Samuel Sánchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel – Euskadi 0:02:45
4 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 0:02:58
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:03:31
6 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team Radioshack 0:03:59
7 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank 0:04:22
8 Luis León Sánchez Gil (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 0:04:41
9 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:05:08
10 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:05:09