pinit fg en rect gray 20   Cave, ODonnell wins Rohto Ironman 70.3 Florida

cave odonnell wins rohto ironman 70 3 florida 300x207   Cave, ODonnell wins Rohto Ironman 70.3 Florida The 2010 Rohto Ironman 70.3 Florida was won by Timothy O’Donnell (USA) and Leanda Cave (GB) today. At the Walt Disney World Resort’s Fort Wilderness Resort and Campgrounds, O’Donnell crossed the finish line at 3:51:18 while Cave defended her title successfully with a time of 4:14:22.

For its professional prize money plus 75 slots to the Foster Grant Ironman World Championship 70.3, Rohto Ironman 70.3 Florida is offering $30,000. To be presented by Ford, it will be held in one to the world’s top beach destinations, in Clearwater, Florida come November 13 this year.

Today, the men’s field composed of the top five finishers included Bryan Rhodes of New Zealand and TJ Tollakson of USA. David Kahn was first out of the water followed by O’Donnell and Dirk Bockel, the defending champion.

All the way the bike race, Tollakson took the lead, at the T2, O’Donnell and Richie Cunningham of Australia were more than seven minutes ahead of Bockel. O’Donnell, at mile 8 of the run, moved in the lead and took the first place, clocking the course’s second-best time. In the tenth off the bike was Viktor Zyemtsev but he was the fastest run split of the day at 1:13:15 putting him in second place at the finish.

Seeing action with Cave included multiple Ironman champion Nina Kraft and American Kim Loeffler in the strong women’s field. First out of the water was Sara McLarty after she took the lead at the T2 was overtaken by American Amanda Stevens. Tactically pushing to the front was Cave taking the lead and held on until the finish. She clocked 1:26:29 half marathon allowing her to beat her 2009 winning time, setting a new course record finish.

Today’s event was participated by athletes from ages 19 to 72. Coming from all over the U.S. and more than 30 countries, the Rohto Ironman 70.3 Florida ended with sunny skies.

Top five professional men’s results:
1. Timothy O’Donnell, USA, 3:51:18
2. Viktor Zyemtsev, UKR, 3:52:39
3. Dirk Bockel, LUX, 3:52:55
4. Richie Cunningham, AUS, 3:57:06
5. David Kahn, USA, 3:57:14

Top five professional women’s results:
1. Leanda Cave, GBR, 4:14:22
2. Amanda Stevens, USA, 4:18:55
3. Magali Tisseyre, CAN, 4:23:10
4. Ayesha Rollinson, CAN, 4:29:07
5. Jacqui Gordon, ZAF, 4:29:39

Via EverymanTri.Com