pinit fg en rect gray 20   Farrar Wins Scheldeprijs

farrar wins scheldeprijs   Farrar Wins Scheldeprijs

Tyler Farrar of Garmin-Transition became the first American winner of the classic Scheldeprijs in Belgium.

Pleased over his victory, Farrar shares his motivation to win, “This was one of my objectives along with Gent-Wevelgem, so it was an important race for me. I didn’t feel great, I was suffering all day but when it’s one of your objectives and you’ve got seven other guys giving 100 percent for you, that’s extra motivation.”

Farrar used the final 10km to distance himself from the other teams and used the break’s advantage to his own. At 100 meters, he outsprinted Robbie McEwen of Team Katusha who got second and left behind Robert Forster of Milram at third place.

Moving forward, Farrar is psyched to be competing at the Tour of France. “We have two guys who have finished in the top five of Paris-Roubaix, so I’ll be riding for them on Sunday. I’ll do everything I can for them as they’ve done for me in the past week.”

The race results are:

1. Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin – Transitions
2. Robbie McEwen (AUS) Team Katusha
3. Robert Förster (GER) Milram
4. Greg Henderson (NZL) Team Sky
5. Wouter Weylandt (BEL) Quick Step
6. Enrico Rossi (ITA) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini Docce
7. Kris Boeckmans (BEL) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
8. Jimmy Casper (FRA) Saur-Sojasun
9. Lloyd Mondory (FRA) Ag2r La Mondiale
10. Alexander Kristoff (NOR) BMC Racing Team

Via Bike World News