pinit fg en rect gray 20   22 Teams at the 2010 Tour de France

22 teams at the 2010 tour de france   22 Teams at the 2010 Tour de France

Amaury Sports Organization declared the list of teams for the 2010 Tour de France on Tuesday. There are sixteen teams which are automatically chosen as per agreement last September 2008 and six wildcard teams. These teams will bring the big names in the cycling scene. Among them would be Lance Armstrong of Team RadioShack, who was a seven time winner of the Tour, Bradley Wiggins of Team Sky, Christian Vande Velde under Garmin-Transitions and World Champion Cadel Evans of BMC.

For this year’s competition, ASO had 18 Pro Tour teams lined up from the 2008 but two of those teams were dissolved. Instead of 4 wildcard invitations, it became 6 due to the 2 free slots. Next year’s selection process will have some changes. As agreed, the first 17 teams in world rankings will have a sure spot for the Tour de France 2011. This was agreed upon by UCI and the organizers of the three Grand Tours.

Vacansoleil, Skil-shimano and Saur-Sojasun had hoped to be included for this year’s competition.

The list of attending teams for the Tour de France 2010 are the ff:

Team Milram
Quick Step
Omega Pharma-Lotto
Team Saxo Bank
Caisse d’Epargne
AG2R La Mondiale
Bbox Bouygues Telecom
Francaise des Jeux
Team RadioShack
BMC Racing Team
Team Sky
Cervelo TestTeam
22 Teams at the 2010 Tour de France 1   22 Teams at the 2010 Tour de France