pinit fg en rect gray 20   Trofeo Alfredo Binda Kicks Off Womens World Cup

trofeo alfredo binda kicks off womens world cup   Trofeo Alfredo Binda Kicks Off Womens World Cup

The Trofeo Alfredo Binda will begin on March 28 Sunday and marks the start of the Women’s World Cup 2010. This race is held every year at the Commune of Cittiglio, Varese since 1974.

Organized by Cycling Sport Promotion Mario Minervino, the attendance expected for this even totals to 150 athletes from 26 national and club teams. Those teams include the best pro teams from Slovenia, Ukraine, USA, Great Britain, The Netherlands, Italy, Australia and Russia.

The favored one among the athletes is Marianne Vos. Her impressive career includes being the 2004 junior world champion, 2006 world champion, gold points in the Beijing Olympics 2008 as well as on the track World 2008. She also got the gold for the World cyclo-cross in 2006, 2009 and 2010. Up against her in the Trofeo Alfredo Binda are Judith Arndt of Germany, Rochelle Gilmore from Australia, Grace Verbeke of Belgium, Emma Johansson of Sweden and Dutch Kirtsen Wild. Two-time winner of the Trofeo Binda and 2008 world champion Nicole Cooke of Britain will also be competing.

The participating teams are:
Great Britain
HTC Columbia (GER)
Cervelo Test Team (NED)
Noris Cycling (GER)
Redsun Cycling Team (BEL)
Lotto Ladies Team (BEL)
Valdarno (ITA)
Safi Pasta Zara (LTU)
Gauss RDZ Ormu (ITA)
Fenix – Petrogradets (RUS)
SC MIchela Fanini Record Rox (ITA)
Hitec Products UKC (NOR)
Esgl 93 – GSD Gestion (FRA)
Lointek (SPA)
Top Girls Fassa Bortolo (ITA)
ASC Chirio Forno D’Asolo (ITA)
Kuota Speed Kueens (AUT)
Vaiano Solaristech (ITA)
Previous winners of Trofeo Binda are:
1999 Fanny Lecortois
2000 Fabiana Luperini
2001 Nicole Brandli
2002 Svethlana Boubnenkova
2003 Diana Ziliute
2004 Oenone Wood
2005 Nicole Cooke
2006 Regina Schleicher
2007 Nicole Cooke
2008 Emma Pooley
2009 Marianne Vos