pinit fg en rect gray 20   Barry Roubaix 2010 Cyclocross

Barry roubaix 2010 1   Barry Roubaix 2010 Cyclocross

The Barry-Roubaix race was created by Rick Plite in 2009. The event is a spring gravel road race which has grown in proportion ever since it started. From 262 riders, participants increased to a number of 654 for 2010. Plite shares how he came up with the idea of the race, “Many people enjoy gravel road rides to mix it up a bit from the grind of road or mountain biking. Most of us would rather ride our bike on a snow packed dirt road than slushy paved roads with traffic. The increasing popularity of cyclocross bikes also makes for a perfect match.”

This year’s race which covered 80% gravel roads began with morning lows in the 20s. By the time the race was underway, the temperature only rose to 34 degrees accompanied by a 15 mph wind from the southeast. Soon sunny skies were upon the riders but the temperature only rose to 50 degrees around 3pm.

The Barry-Roubaix route started with all the categories together at a paved park road. The first 2.5 miles was a neutral roll-out. The race continues to dirt roads and gravel routes. There were also sandy sections like the “Mur de Two Track”.

There are also two loops in the race. The beginner’s loop travels for 23 miles while a 35-mile loop is designated for expert and elite categories. There were a few climbs that posed as a challenge to the racers, even making them get off their bikes just to reach the summit.

The Barry-Roubaix event welcomed cyclocross, mountain, road, single-speed, fixies and tandems. This cemented the popularity of the event across all types of cyclists. There were 29ers, 26ers and other traditional road bikes in the race although most rode the 700c cyclocross bikes.

In the Women’s Elite, Mackenzie Woodring (Priority Health Cycling Team) successfully defended her 2009 title. Meghan Korol (Mafia Racing) came in second and Karey Collins (MPI Main Street kuhnhenn)in third place.

In the Men’s Elite, Derek Graham (Bissell/ABG) bested second placer Mike Anderson (Gary Fisher/ Sram) and Clint Verran (Paint Creek Cycles) who won third place.

Source CX Magazine