pinit fg en rect gray 20   Andre Greipel Takes 2010 Tour Down Under

andre greipel takes 2010 tour down under   Andre Greipel Takes 2010 Tour Down Under

Andre Greipel continued his winning form right down to the end as he clinched this year’s Tour Down Under (his second) last Sunday in spectacular fashion.

Greipel fought and managed to maintain his 11-second overall lead over Luis Leon Sanchez and finished in 5th place in the final stage. This is the second championship for the German rider in the Australian tour, as he won his first Tour Down Under back in 2008.

Meanwhile, Chris Sutton earned the first-ever stage win for Team Sky as he and teammate Greg Henderson again posted a one-two podium finish on the last stage of the tour. This stage win completed a spectacular season opener for the newly-formed British team.

Henderson finished in 2nd place overall while Luis Leon Sanchez earned honors for 3rd overall. Lance Armstrong finished the stage in 77th place and 25th overall. His time was 1:03 behind Greipel’s accumulated posting of 18:47:05.

The German dominated the entire race, getting off to a sprinting finish in the first two stages and fighting off an Armstrong attack in the 4th stage to earn yet another stage win (his 3rd) in the tour. Only Team Sky managed to break Greipel’s stranglehold when Chris Sutton clinched the win for the last stage of the tour, but Greipel was already in place for the championship.

Overall standings:
1. Andre Greipel, Germany, HTC Columbia, 18 hours, 47 minutes, 5 seconds
2. Luis Leon Sanchez, Spain, Caisse D’Espargne, 11 seconds behind
3. Greg Henderson, New Zealand, Team Sky, 15 seconds behind
4. Robbie McEwen, Australia, Katusha, 17 seconds behind
5. Luke Roberts, Australia, Milram, same time
6. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC Racing Team, 21 seconds behind
7. Eduard Vorganov, Russia, Katusha, 25 seconds behind
8. Jurgen Roelandts, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Lotto, 26 seconds behind
9. Robert Hunter, South Africa, Garmin, same time
10. Markus Fothen, Germany, Milram, 27 seconds behind

Tour Down Under – Stage Six result:
1. Chris Sutton, Australia, Team Sky, 1 hour, 53 minutes, 20 seconds
2. Greg Henderson, New Zealand, Team Sky, same time
3. Gramem Brown, Australia, Rabobank, same time
4. Robbie McEwen, Australia, Katusha, same time
5. Andre Greipel, Germany, HTC-Columbia, same time
6. Allan Davis, Australia, Astana, same time
7. Matthew Goss, Australia, HTC-Columbia, same time
8. Yauheni Hutarovich, Belarus, Francaise des Jeux, same time
9. Gert Steegmans, Belgium, RadioShack, same time
10. Jose Joaquin Rojas, Spain, Caisse d’Epargne, same time.