pinit fg en rect gray 20   2010 Paris Nice Features 22 Teams

2010 paris nice features 22 teams   2010 Paris Nice Features 22 Teams

22 teams will be seeing action in the upcoming 2010 Paris-Nice, which will begin on March 7 in Montfort l’Amaury and end one week later on March 14 in Nice.

Alberto Contador will have a chance to redeem himself as Team Astana is one of the invited teams scheduled to compete. Contador, a two-time Tour de France champion, has been harboring bitter memories of his last year’s Paris-Nice performance, when he reportedly ‘bonked’ during a critical stage and lost the overall lead which he had grabbed in earlier stages. Luis Leon Sanchez ended up as the winner.

Sylvain Chavanel is expected to race for Team Quick Step. He won stage 3 last year and finished 2nd overall, so he poses a powerful challenge to anyone looking for the title this year.

Teams Milram and Footon-Servetto will not be joining the event, however, since both teams failed the automatic qualifications for selection, as set by the organizer.

Another rider we won’t be seeing is World Champion Cadel Evans. L’Equipe reports that Cadel Evans did not even apply for the race, which may be the reason why Team BMC was also left off the invitation list. The team is in training camp at the moment, but with a star lineup that includes Alessandro Ballan and George Hincapie, its chances of being invited to several other events for this year are in excellent shape.