cadel evans named australian cyclist of the year   Cadel Evans Named Australian Cyclist of the Year

Today, in Melbourne, Australia, Cadel Evans was named the 2009 Australian Cyclist of the Year at a ceremony. 32-year-old Evans is only the second man to win the Sir Hubert Opperman medal for the third time in the award’s 51-year history. Peter Besanko won the award in 1979, 1981, and 1984, while Evans won in 2006, 2007, and now, 2009. Evans was the first Australian to win the elite men’s road race, winning in Mendrisio, Switzerland.

Via Velo News.