giro dItalia 2010 route map unveiled   Giro dItalia 2010 Route Map Unveiled

A 21 stage Giro d’Italia route map was unveiled in Milan Saturday for next year’s Giro d’Italia race. The race will start in the Netherlands on May 8 before racers pedal through some tough climbs, as cyclists make their way to the finish-line in Verona on May 30.

Among the guests present at the official announcing of next years Giro d’Italia route sat former winner Damiano Cunego, Italy’s very own Mario Cipollini, and Russian pro cyclist Denis Menchov.

A total of three individual time trials (TT) will be held, starting with a short 8.4km TT around Amsterdam. The second time trial will be longer, a 12.9km TT uphill TT to Plan de Corones. And the last individual time trial will be a repeat of previous Giro d’Italia races, a 15.3km TT around Verona. There will also be a 32.5km team time trial in Savigliano to Cuneo.

2010 Giro d’Italia Schedule:
Stage 1: Saturday May 8 – Amsterdam (TT) 8.4km
Stage 2: Sunday May 9 – Amsterdam to Utrecht 209km
Stage 3: Monday May 10 – Amsterdam to Middelberg 209km
Rest day: Tuesday May 11 – Travel to Italy
Stage 4: Wednesday May 12 – Savigliano to Cuneo (TTT) 32.5km
Stage 5: Thursday May 13 – Novara to Novi Ligure 168km
Stage 6: Friday May 14 – Fidenza to Carrara 166km
Stage 7: Saturday May 15 – Carrara to Montalcino 215km
Stage 8: Sunday May 16 – Chianciano Terme to Terminillo 189km
Stage 9: Monday May 17 – Frosinone to Cava De Tirreni 188km
Stage 10: Tuesday May 18 – Avellino to Bitonto 220km
Stage 11: Wednsday May 19 – Lucera to L’Aquila 256km
Stage 12: Thursday May 20 – Citta Sant’Angelo toPorto Recanati 191km
Stage 13: Friday May 21 -Potro Recanati to Cesenatico 222km
Stage 14: Saturday May 22 – Ferrara to Asolo 201km
Stage 15: Sunday May 23 – Mestre to Monte Zoncolan 218km
Rest day: Monday May 24
Stage 16: Tuesday May 25 – St. Vigil to Plan de Corones (TT) 12.9km
Stage 17: Wednesday May 26 – Brunico/Bruneck to PeioTerme 173km
Stage 18: Thursday May 27 – Levico Terme to Brescia 151km
Stage 19: Friday May 28 – Brescia to Aprica 195km
Stage 20: Saturday May 29 – Bormio to Tonale 178km
Stage 21: Sunday May 30 – Verona (TT) 15.3km